77. Goodnight Brownies

There's a French press under there.  You should eat these brownies with a nice cup of coffee/tea.

There’s a French press under there. You should eat these brownies with a nice cup of coffee/tea.

These are so easy, even I can do them – in fact, I made these on Saturday.  And there’s enough time for you to make them this afternoon/tonight if you have the ingredients on hand.  I baked them in the toaster oven so I could put them in to bake by myself (I wore a big oven mitt).  These have two primary influences:  1) I read somewhere on the internet about how you can mix Greek yogurt and cake mix to make “cookies” and loved the idea, and 2) I think Paula makes a brownie with a chocolate bar in the middle.  Mommy used to do this all the time with mint or coconut bars (not like a Snickers – a flat chocolate bar shaped like a traditional Hershey’s).  They were fantastic.

Ingredients

  1. 1 bag of brownie mix (I used Ghiradelli Triple Chocolate)
  2. 1 c of Greek Yogurt
  3. Middle layer:  I used 9 chocolate covered mint chocolate wafers from Costco.  You could use anything – next time I should try graham crackers smeared with peanut butter and/or marshmallow fluff.  Mmmmm!    

Preheat oven to whatever the brownie mix tells you to preheat it to.  Grease the pan (mine was 8×8).

Instructions

  1. Mix brownie mix and yogurt with an electric mixer.  I added a splash of milk since it seemed a little dry and it turned out fine.
  2. Pour half of the brownie mix into the pan.
  3. Place your layer of cookies/chocolate on top of the 1st half of the brownie mix.
  4. Pour the rest of the brownie mix on top, spreading evenly.
  5. Bake according to instructions.
  6. Enjoy!  Mine were yummy both warm and cold, but I think I probably prefer warm – think molten lava cake.