458. Isn’t He Gracious

16143217599_f7f211e86b_z

This is Dr. Paul Lam. He is my Tai Chi video instructor. CMD informed me I need to relax so I have renewed my interest in Tai Chi. It was my Pool Therapist who introduced me to Tai Chi post injury. She told me about “chair” Tai Chi – routines done seated so they are great for those in wheelchairs or with impaired mobility. I lost no time in purchasing an Amazon Instant Download. I’ve always liked Tai Chi because it IS relaxing even though I did it badly and extremely briefly – but I like it now for the emphasis on breathing, the slow, sweeping movements, the coordination required and the visual skill it takes to follow your hand with your eyes.

I never got beyond maybe 10 minutes at a time with the Chair Tai Chi. I’m serious – this guy goes on (with an extremely enthusiastic smile) for like an hour and I was exhausted after a fraction of that time.

16143435419_fc4b5949c4_z

Now that I’ve graduated to Dr. Paul Lam (He is free with Amazon Prime Instant Video, you can also find his first lesson on Youtube) I also enjoy the challenge of standing and moving my feet. The weight shifting is slow and deliberate with a clear emphasis on leading with either the heel or the ball of the foot so it’s good for me.

I also enjoy his gentle instructional manner. He is a riot, although probably unintentionally. In the picture at the top he is demonstrating what he describes as the Universal Greeting in the Tai Chi world. You’ve probably seen it before, or done it if you’ve done martial arts but I’ve never heard it explained. Apparently the position of the hands signifies Strength, Friendship, and Humility.

Good greeting, I’d say. I wrote yesterday about how great it is when someone is available and willing to jump in beside you and get the job done when you’re struggling. When I think of it at the highest level, this is what the Lord Jesus did, and even though in Him dwells all the fullness of the Godhead bodily, He did it in a way that would draw us to Himself, that wouldn’t scare us, and that would invite trust. Isn’t He gracious?

And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us. And we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth. John 1.14

Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. John 15.13

Let this mind be in you, which was also found in Christ Jesus: Who, being found in the form of God thought it not robbery to be equal with God: But made Himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross. Philippians 2.5-8

Ann Ning Learning How |Nonprofit books on Amazon!

2 thoughts on “458. Isn’t He Gracious

Comments, anyone? Thanks for saying "hi" :) (Sorry I can't reply all the time, but when I do the reply appears only on this blog unless I remember to reply via email.)